| Contact | Location Map | Print  | DE

Astronomisches Institut

Titelbild

Welcome to the AIUB web site

Icon zwdpa2011w.jpg (981KB)
zwdpa2011w.jpg
Icon zipa2010.jpg (358KB)
zipa2010.jpg

The AIUB has its research focus on fundamental astronomy, most likely the oldest branch of astronomy. In the academic curriculum the Astronomical and the Physical Institutes of the University of Bern offer the astronomy and astrophysics modules in the bachelor and master programs of the university of Bern.

Combining observational skills and theoretical work has traditionat the AIUB. Modern observations are performed at the Zimmerwald observatory. The observation methods include astrometric positions of natural and artificial celestial bodies, distances and distance differences of artificial Earth satellites.

An Image of the Zimmerwald Observatory in the summer
The Zimmerwald observatory

Satellite Laser Ranging with cm-accuracy, the measurement of distance differences to GNSS (Global Navitation Satellite Systems) satellites, measured in the microwave band of the electromagnetic spectrum, are used to determine the satellites' orbits, the terrestrial reference frame, the Earth's gravity field, for worldwide time synchronization, and so on. The results achieved by the AIUB are a significant contribution to the official products of the IERS (International Earth Rotation and Reference Systems Service).

Fig. 3: GOCE Mission of ESA (to be launched in 2007)
GOCE Mission of ESA (has been launched on March 17, 2009)

CCD observations acquired by the one-meter telescopes in Zimmerwald and the ESA telescope on Tenerife are used searching minor planets and space debris. The astrometric positions are used to determine the orbits of these objects. These results significantly contribute to international search programs and projects, e.g., to feed ESA's space debris model.


Zimmerwald CCD frame of geostationy satellites in front of star background.

Research at AIUB is performed in two groups:

The AIUB has about 25 co-workers (including Master and Ph.D. candidates). The results of the institute's research are not only presented in papers but also compiled in book form. Dr. Andreas Verdun, specialized in the history of astronomy of the 18th century, currently edits two volumes of Euler's Complete Works with contributions to the field of Celestial Mechanics.

Universität Bern | Astronomisches Institut | Sidlerstrasse 5 | CH-3012 Bern | Tel +41 (0)31 631 85 91 | Fax +41 (0)31 631 38 69
© Universität Bern 2009/03/13 | Imprint

| Kontakt | Lageplan | Drucken  | EN

Astronomisches Institut

Titelbild

Willkommen auf der AIUB-Homepage

Das AIUB befasst sich in der Forschung mit Fundamentalastronomie, dem wohl ältesten Zweig der Astronomie. Im Unterricht bietet das Astronomische zusammen mit dem Physikalischen Institut Astronomie und Astrophysik in den Bachelor- und Masterprogrammen an.

Die Verknüpfung von Theorie und Beobachtung ist das Markenzeichen des AIUB. Fundamental-astronomische Beobachtungen werden vom Observatorium Zimmerwald aus durchgeführt. Beobachtet werden Richtungen zu natürlichen und künstlichen Objekten, Distanzen und radiale Distanzdifferenzen von künstlichen Himmelskörpern.

Ein Bild vom Observatorium in Zimmerwald im Winter
Das Observatorium Zimmerwald

 

Die mit Satelliten Laser Ranging (SLR) mit cm-Genauigkeit bestimmten Distanzen zu Erdsatelliten und die mit Globalen NavigationsSatellitenSystemen (GNSS) bestimmten Änderungen von Distanzen zu den Satelliten werden zur Festlegung eines globalen terrestrischen Bezugssystems, zur Bahnbestimmung, zur Überwachung der Erdrotation, zur Bestimmung des Gravitationsfeldes der Erde, zur Zeitsynchronisation und zu vielen anderen Zwecken verwendet. Die Resultate des AIUB stellen einen wesentlichen Beitrag für die offiziellen Produkte des IERS (Internationaler Erdrotationsdienst) dar.


Die ESA-Mission GOCE (Start 17. März 2009, Artist's view)

Mit CCD-Beobachtungen in Zimmerwald und Teneriffa werden Kleinplaneten und Raumschrotteile (space debris) im erdnahen Raum gesucht. Aus den gemessenen Richtungen zu diesen Objekten werden deren Bahnen bestimmt. Diese Resultate liefern wesentliche Beiträge zu internationalen Projekten, so zum Beispiel zum European Space Agency (ESA) Modell für Raumschrott.


Zimmerwalder CCD-Aufnahme geostationärer Satelliten vor dem Sternhintergrund

Am AIUB wird in zwei Gruppen geforscht:

Das AIUB beschäftigt etwa 25 Mitarbeiter (inklusive Master- und Ph.D. Kandidaten). Die Forschungsresultate werden nicht nur in Paper- sondern auch in Buchform in konsistenter Form dargestellt. Wissenschaftgeschichte wird im Rahmen der Edition der Werke von Leonhard Euler durch Dr. Andreas Verdun betrieben.

Universität Bern | Astronomisches Institut | Sidlerstrasse 5 | CH-3012 Bern | Tel +41 (0)31 631 85 91 | Fax +41 (0)31 631 38 69
© Universität Bern 13.03.2009 | Impressum